#books

The Time Keeper by Mitch Albom (SPOILER FREE)


The Time Keeper by Mitch Albom revolves around three characters; Dor, Sarah and Victor. Each either wants more time, less of it or none of it. Dor, the inventor of time, returns to Earth decades after on a journey to help two individuals to find meaning within their own lives and to not be so dependent on time. Sounds like a great concept, right? If only Mitch utilised this plot more to his ability by creating a story that had much more depth, factual/historical information and conversation. Instead I was given a book that was simplistic right down to it’s core with two paged chapters (sometimes one) and selfish characters which were deeply frustrating to read about.

What annoyed me the most about this book was how teenager, Sarah, had announced that she was in love already with a guy who CLEARLY hardly revealed affection back as well as how cancer patient, Victor, was near the end of his well-lived, long life yet wants to freeze himself before he dies in order to be revived back to life in the distant future with his money saved for himself rather than for his widowed wife. Such a selfish prick if you ask me!!! And what made me hardcore cringe was the line on pg 151, “A heart weighs more when it splits in two; it crashes in the chest like a broken plane.” I’m sorry… what? What a god-awful simile!

I wish I loved this book as it was recommended to me by one of my high school friends but I just really didn’t. Unfortunately I have decided to give this book 2/5 stars as I desperately couldn’t wait for this book to end. I really was not a fan of how Mitch decided to portray this story. The blurb sounded magical and instead the novel as a result was sappy and unrealistic.

If you have read this book, what did you think of it?

For now, I hope you are enjoying your day and are indulging yourself in the addiction that is books. Devour. Devour. Devour.

Sidney xx

Leave a comment