#books

Finding Cinderella by Colleen Hoover (SPOILER REVIEW)


Finding Cinderella was the last book I read in 2016 and if I’m completely honest I was a little disappointed. Yes, I read this book in one sitting because I was intrigued towards what was going to happen yet I found the story irrelevant and quite frankly very unbelievable. I wasn’t a big fan towards the plot twists and found the Prologue quite insulting towards the whole thing being based on ‘pretend’ and the selfishness behind not wanting to get to know the other person in terms of how they look like and what their names are. I guess because I’m not the kind of person who sleeps with just anyone. I found it quite insulting towards their ‘efforts’ of disregarding the meaning behind having sex with someone that you care for and have known for a long time but I guess maybe I’m just old-fashioned? I’ll go into more detail about my thoughts in the spoiler-y section of this review. Stay tuned!

To those of you who haven’t read this novella, you may have no idea what I’m talking about which is completely fine. Although I had problems with many parts of this book, I did also enjoy parts. It’s worth reading and while I didn’t enjoy it as much I’m glad I am still able to express my opinion even if it happens to be a negative one. Unfortunately that’s how books are. You either like or dislike them and I’d like to be as truthful as I can when reviewing books. This is a platform where I am able to speak honestly to allow you all to understand who I am and I am the type of person who cares about a lot of things and carries her heart on her sleeve. I have been told this and I do believe it.

If you do end up reading this short novella please let me know what you think! Am I the only one who felt this way?

Without further ado, I’m going to dive into spoilers. You have been warned.

***

So… I’m not sure if it’s just me yet I thought this novella could of been SOOOO much better. Colleen Hoover gets much appraisal in being one of New York’s Best selling authors and I’ve read one of her books, Maybe Someday, which I liked quite a lot  (click here to read my review on it). I’m astounded after reading many reviews on Goodreads towards Finding Cinderella. Many people boasted about ‘loving’ this book. I just can’t pinpoint why when the whole plot and the twists were extremely unrealistic.

But anyway… Let’s start from the beginning. I think my favourite part of this book was reading Hoover’s Cinderella Story at the very beginning of this novella. I can’t believe that she once upon a time (pun intended) received $9 per hour for a job she once worked at. It’s wonderful to see and read about her success towards following her dream in writing. I have always loved writing ever since I was a young girl and have always found it incredibly awe-inspiring when I hear about author’s declaring their passion towards a world they have created or a memoir which involves the utmost courage to write. Reading her words allowed me to want to follow all my dreams. I hope that I too can one day write a novel of my own yet I know that it will take time but then again time is always on our side, is it not? I found it so wonderful that Hoover found her “rude awakening” by being an audience member at her son’s rehearsal. The line, “As I sat in the audience of my son’s rehearsals, I saw something in him that had long been dormant in myself – creative passion” made me believe again and I could envision myself in the eyes of Hoover looking upon my role models, my best friends, my family doing what they love most, truly radiating passion and love making them shine bright from the inside out. I especially loved how she chose to write again not for fame and all that bullshit but for pure enjoyment. When you do something you love THAT is when you gain true success and have achieved all that you have desired because you KNOW everything you create has been created with your whole heart as it is something you are most passionate about.

These lines in Hoover’s Cinderella Story were absolutely beautiful:
– “In the past two years, I have gone from a mother who refused to believe that a childhood fantasy could become a reality, to a writer with five books that have all become New York Times Best Sellers, a free novella, and two more novels to be published this year.” (Pg xii)
– “Despite all the great experiences and accomplishments that have come after it, I still consider my proudest moment to be the first time I typed the words The End. For that was my beginning.” (Pg xiv)

Let’s move on to the Prologue. Two students meeting in a closet and having sex with each other pretending they love each other when they don’t even know each other’s names? First reaction: WHAT THE FUCK? I found that extremely weird and kind of creepy towards the whole notion of acting it out and the selfishness behind not wanting to get to know the other person on a deeper level. I’m not the kind of person to just have sex with anybody especially someone I don’t know. I found it insulting towards how they completely disregarded the meaning behind it and in the end walking from it all without turning the light on. I understand the meaning behind not wanting to ruin something ‘so great’ in terms of the whole mystery of not knowing who the other person is yet I find it highly disrespectful that you can do that with someone and disregard the aftermath of it or not even want to know who the person on the other side is as sex is a two way street. This screams a complete disregard for the other. I know that I personally would not be okay with this.

Secondly, what kind of a name is Six? It automatically made me think towards Tobias in the Divergent series by Veronica Roth being nicknamed Four as well as towards making it into a pun: Sex which makes me roll my eyes on a hardcore level. If this is why she chose the name… Good grief! There will be much face palming from me. I dislike when people are named after numbers unless they are Eleven from Stranger Things. She is fking badass and the only exception.

Despite not liking the plots in this book there were some scenes that I did rather enjoy. I liked on pg 39 when Daniel announced to Six that he wanted to kiss her on their first date and Six replying with, “Daniel, there’s a woman in the booth behind you changing her baby’s diaper on the table. You’re about to kiss me and the last thing I’ll see before your lips touch mine is a woman wiping her infant’s ass.” This was a funny scene as well as the moment when they were in front of Six’s home barking back and forth teasing each other with “I’m not kissing you now… You just gave me performance anxiety” before they finally kiss. This was hilarious yet also very sweet. I like the playful side of a relationship when you are able to tease each other yet know what the other is truly thinking.

There were a lot of funny little lines in this book which I enjoyed for example when Six is about to go into her house after their first date and Daniel calls after her saying, “I forgot to accidentally touch your boob.. Oops. Sorry.” That was super SUPER cheeky. As well as the bit where Daniel tells Six on pg 72, “Dammit, Six. I love every single word that comes out of your mouth.” “Cock,” she says dryly. She’s evil.”” I gotta say! That was a good one and had me laughing out loud.

I’m not particularly sure how I feel about the characters. I don’t dislike them yet I don’t LOVE them. That being said I did like while reading this book how you could feel Daniel’s demeanour changing to complete comfort and feeling himself around her as he starts to fall more and more for her repeating on pg 41, “She laughs again. God, I love that she thinks I’m funny… God, I love that I think she’s funny.” This was a sweet moment.

I liked that Hoover decided to quickly end the facade of the two not being in a relationship in front of all their friends. As I said earlier, I’m not comfortable with couples or two people in a relationship being unfaithful disrespecting each other. I find it very disrespectful towards the other and I can’t see myself ever doing that to someone despite what someone close to me thinks about our ‘love’ for each other. I enjoyed that in this scene Hoover created a speech which Daniel announced out loud stating that, “She fist bumped me… I’m into [her] because [she’s] awesome. And because [she] let me touch [her] boob.” As well as the scene where Daniel says that he loves his best friend, Holder, to his face and how Holder gives him the bird after. In Hoover writing, “It’s almost as cool as a fist bump,” made this little scene worth reading.

I had a problem with the Prologue but I also had a massive problem with the plot twist of Six getting pregnant. Sigh. This could of been so much more interesting yet it went downhill for me. I found it iffy because she so would of hunted him down to tell him or at least remember what time they met in the closet so she can at least make an effort to find him again like OMG AT LEAST MAKE THE GOD DAMN EFFORT! This is a LIFE you are carrying inside you. How on earth would you be able to keep it a secret and not tell the person who was on the other side of it even if it means having to ask around to whom this mysterious person actually is. I think that’s what lacked for me in this book. No one made an effort for each other. Everything was based on selfish ordeals which I truly dislike.

As well as this ‘plot twist’ the whole thing at the end about Sky was just odd. It actually left me kind of confused like what? Her name isn’t actually Sky? She’s hiding it from her father? What the hell! I thought this scene was incredibly unnecessary and how the book ended on pinky promises left me incredibly disappointed.

I’m not sure if this is just me or what yet I truly believe Hoover could of done a whole lot more with this story. I rate this book 3/5 stars as I found the plot highly frustrating as well as how Six and Daniel found each other again yet through Six being Sky’s best friend? Like whaaaat?! Very disappointed.

If you read this novella, please let me know what you thought. Was it just me who felt this negative towards this book? Tell me I’m not crazy!

For now, I hope you are enjoying your day and are indulging yourself in the addiction that is books. Devour. Devour. Devour.

Sidney xx

Leave a Reply

