#books

Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas (SPOILER REVIEW)

img_7358

Hey everyone! I FINALLY finished HEIR OF FIRE and oh my goodness, do I have a review for you today.

I want to go straight into spoilers so if you have not read this book yet I urge you to do so. When you have please come back so we can together discuss all the things. So many things! Eeeeee!!!!

Without further ado, I’m going to dive into spoilers. You have been warned.

***

There were a lot of new characters that we were introduced to in this book but one of my favourite additions was Manon Blackbeak, a ruthless witch who is part Ironteeth and Crochan. Manon’s storyline was my favourite asset to this book. I loved the whole ideal behind having different witch clans and the names of each of them for example The Bluebloods and the Yellowlegs. I found it so creative how each witch clan is a compound word of a colour alongside a part of the body whether human or part animalistic. I found this to be a very creative input from Maas.

The whole ideal behind the story of the witches and being able to see it from the perspective of Manon engrossed me into this world that so engaged me. I found it very interesting towards how the witches had to choose a wyvern, which is a type of dragon, as their own. It was satisfying to see the contrast towards the development of Manon’s nature and how her qualities of being ruthless and sinister led her to firstly be keen on “the fiercest” wyvern called Titus. While I loved the moment between Manon and Titus on page 98 when Maas wrote, “As her eyes met with the endless dark of Titus’s, she smiled at the wyvern. She could have sworn he smiled back” I also loved how her choice changed towards choosing one of the smallest wyverns, Abraxos, who reveals his respect and loyalty towards Manon.

The relationship and bond between Manon and Abraxos grew as Manon went to extreme lengths to make him stronger and the best. I loved her speech towards Abraxos on page 228 how she cupped his snout to make him look at her as she said, “You want out of this shithole? Then you’ll let me put this saddle on you to check the fit. And when we’re done you’re going to let me look at your tail. Those human bastards cut off your spikes, so I’m going to build some for you. Iron ones. Like mine,” she said, and flashed her teeth. “It’s going to hurt, and you’re going to want to kill the men who put them in, but you’re going to let them do it, because if you don’t then you will rot down here for the rest of your life. Understand?” A long hot huff of air into her hands. “Once all that is done,” she said, smiling faintly at her wyvern, “you and I are going to learn how to fly. And then we’ll stain this kingdom red.” The imagery in this was so raw and beautiful as we were able to feel the connection that is only just beginning to form between these two. I could feel the optimism and determination in Manon’s voice which makes me excited for her to become one of the strongest witches and I believe that she WILL become one of the strongest especially towards how she stands up to her grandmother who is also an ass. I do hope that Manon changes forces and ends up on the same side as Celaena rather then being on the same side as the King of Adarlan. Oh how I dislike that bastard of a man.

As well as this moment between Abraxos and Manon, I also loved the part where it felt as if Manon was a mother forcing her child to eat their greens in the scene where she was demanding Abraxos to open his wings. On page 267 Maas wrote, “Manon’s stomach went from her throat right out her ass, but they were swooping upward, and his wings were pumping, each boom the most beautiful sound she had ever heard in her long, miserable life.” This line made me laugh, smile as well as somewhat feel sympathetic towards Manon and the life she was born into which I find amazing because this was one line that made me feel all that.

I also loved the part where Manon and Abraxos basically went on a suicide mission to the Ruhnn Mountains to find “the legendary Stygian spiders, large as horses and deadlier than poison” to steal spidersilk. I became anxious but intrigued as it made me think towards the book, Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets, when Harry and Ron also go on an adventure to meet the large acromantula, Aragog, once owned by Hagrid. They almost died on that ‘adventure’ which is why I became so nervous. They were successful in stealing the spidersilk yet I believe that down the line Manon will have to pay the price for that act.

This novel also led us to be introduced to the character of Rowan which I didn’t like so much. I hope you can excuse my brutal honesty as I say that there is something about him that annoys me. I don’t like how he speaks to Celaena and how proud he is. It was probably about 200 pages of this duo that left me incredibly bored to a point where when Manon’s storyline came back, I wrote a note saying “After so long, FINALLY Maas has brought back the witches. I missed all their scheming and bitching.” Haha omg! Yet despite not liking him that much I did like some moments that occurred between them both. I enjoyed how Rowan was able to teach Celaena how to control her magic, most importantly how to use fire, how to shift and create protective shields. One of my favourite parts was when Celaena was being chased by skinwalkers and she was on the edge of a cliff facing towards them. Did you think she was going to fall or they were going to kill her? Nah-uh! “Surprise… The world erupted in blue wildfire.” OH MY GOD!!! This was by far the best line in the entire book. There was so much sass as you could see the smirk on her face as she obliterated them.

I also enjoyed the part where Rowan and Celaena had a race in the woods towards who could outrun who. It became mischievous and cheeky towards how competitive Celaena became as, “she wanted to see if she could go faster, if she could outrun the wind itself.” I fell in love with the entire imagery of this scene by how detailed and descriptive Maas was in illustrating the sensations and exhilaration Celaena was feeling in this moment for example on page 237 when Maas wrote, “And then she was going swifter than she ever had in her life, the trees a blur, her immortal body singing as she let its rhythms fall into place… She could die for love of this speed, this surety in her bones. How had she been afraid of this body for so long? Even her soul felt looser. As if it had been locked up and buried and was only now starting to shake free. Not joy, perhaps not ever, but a glimmer of what she had been before grief had decimated her so thoroughly.”

Apart from not really liking Rowan that much can I just take a moment to talk about my dislike towards Chaol for a second. Oh my goodness! On page 537 Maas described Chaol saying that, “He’d known, since the moment he figured out who she was, that while Celaena would always pick him, Aelin would not.” And I was all like, “GET OVER IT BETCH!!!!” Far out, he needs to learn to move the fuck on. I will say that there was one part in this book where I liked Chaol and that was near the end of the book when Chaol said to Dorian that he loves him. The bromance between these two is what keeps me going with this character.

Another part that made me swoon towards the imagery was when Celaena was on the verge of setting herself on fire due to not being able to control her power to that extent. I loved the contrast behind the water in the bathtub turning from ice to boiling water within seconds through the imagery, “Like the ebb and flow of the tide, the bath froze, then melted, froze, then melted, slower each time. And each time, the cold soaked into her a bit more, numbing her, urging her body to relax. Ice and fire. Frost and embers. Locked in a battle, pushing and pulling.” I feel like this description on page 361 is a metaphor towards Celaena and Dorian. I feel like it is a subtle hint towards a scene of Dorian and Celaena having to battle against each other due to Dorian’s mindset changing to the worst especially towards how his father put a collar on him. Dorian is going to turn dark and I have a feeling we are going to see a big scene between these two but please, no spoilers for the upcoming books.

Despite the ending which I’ll go into more detail soon, I loved being able to see Dorian discovering more towards how to control his magic and how it emanates itself due to being attached to his emotions. Although this can be kind of a bad thing because it could get Dorian caught which we see at the end of the book, it also could help in Dorian defeating his father once and for all.

Another character we got to meet in this book was Sorscha, Dorian’s healer, and I really liked the development of her character. I didn’t mind the special bond she made with Dorian as I found it interesting towards her persona of being a healer, who are normally known as caring, being exactly apart of her nature. I thought it was sweet how Sorscha had a crush on Dorian all these years and finally broke that barrier. You go girl!

BUT OMGG THE LAST COUPLE PAGES IS WHERE THIS BOOK FUCKING TURNS !!!!!!!! All my notes say the same thing and it’s all just one word written over and over. I’m sure you’ll be able to guess what particular crude word I used. I can’t believe that the King of Adarlan found Aedion and Chaol right when they were about to put their plan into action. And then later on Dorian showing way too much personal emotion which allowed the King to see his romantic connection to Sorscha which caused the king to behead her. Omg!!!! I was so pissed because I was starting to like her but hey, we’ll get over that one. BUT OMFG DID I GET HELLA PISSED AND OH HOW DID THE CRUDE WORD INCREASE TOWARDS WHAT HAPPENED NEXT!!! MY BAE DORIAN! OH MY POOR BAE!!!! HE IS NOW BEING CONTROLLED BY KING ADARLAN. FUCK OFF!! THIS CAN’T BE TRUE!!!!! I was so upset reading this last bit that I was literally fuming !!!! Reading the words from his father saying, “Hold him still.” I just can’t! I hope Dorian is able to break free from his father’s torment and power. Please survive in one piece, bae. Please save the world on Celaena’s side.

I also can’t believe that the third wyrdkey is the Amulet of Orynth. Oh my god do I hope Celaena gets it back and saves the world as well as saving DORAIN !!!!! I find it so awesome how it brings protection and I believe that Celaena has so much love and power on her side that there is no doubt in my mind that she will win this war. I can’t begin to explain just how excited I am for the next books.

I rate this book 3.5/5 stars as it took me ages to get through it due to being disinterested in bits that I felt were quite unnecessary. What won me over with this book was Manon’s story and of course, the end. Although I’m still so pissed and I HATE Dorian’s father and all he lives for (How could he kill Sorscha in front of Dorian? That is brutal! As well as how he’s using the entrapment of Aedion to draw Aelin there) I can not wait for the next book which I have a feeling are going to be the standouts in this series. Oh how I hope to god Aelin saves the world.

If you have not read this book yet I urge you to do so as soon as possible. You won’t regret it. I look forward to reviewing the next novel in the series soon and hearing your thoughts.

For now, I hope you are enjoying your day and are indulging yourself in the addiction that is books. Devour. Devour. Devour.

Sidney xx

2 thoughts on “Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas (SPOILER REVIEW)

  1. I agree with you, it took me awhile to get through this book. I actually have no idea what made me read on but I’m excited for you to pick up Queen of Shadows as I simply love that book and Empire of Storms 😀

    Like

    1. Ahh I thought I was the only one 😂 That’s so good to hear because heaps of people I know gave it full stars and I was like ummm 🙈 But yeah!! I can’t wait to read on, oh my goodness !!! I hope Aelin saves the world and Dorian, my bae 😭

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

