#books

Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover (SPOILER REVIEW)

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Hey guys!!

I’d like to start off by apologising for not posting since June. Oh my goodness! I’m so incredibly late!!!!! I have been extremely busy with studying full time at university and with starting a new job last month. I hope you can forgive me for my lack of posts but please have no fear: Sid is back and she’s been reading, reading, reading.

In June I decided to pick up Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover and I’m so glad I did. I absolutely loved this book. I was captivated from the opening line, “I just punched a girl in the face.” And not to mention that the girl she punched was her best friend. Excuse me… Whaaaat?

My best friend actually recommended this book to me back in high school saying, “You have the same name as the protagonist!!!! You have to read it, Sidney!” Two years later I have finally read Maybe Someday. Thank you, Victora immensely for the fabulous recommendation hehe! Yes… My best friend’s name is Victoria. Isn’t it ironic? Haha!!

To those of you who have not read this novel yet I recommend that you do so. I’m also not going to tell you anything further about it as I think it is best to go in without knowing anything at all. Have fun and enjoy this fabulous book by Colleen starring me. Jokes!

Without further ado, I’m going to dive into spoilers. You have been warned.

***

Oh my goodness! I have so many feels right now. This novel was beyond beautiful. I loved the way you could see the relationship between Sydney and Ridge unfold. I could feel how much they cared for each other and it was toxic. Being in a relationship that revolves around respect, care and admiration is incredibly beautiful and should be the main ideals explored and furnished when with someone. If I were in a relationship those three things are exactly what I would want. The relationship between Ridge and Sydney enabled me to reflect on how love should be and why so many individuals are on the search for it. This is the kind of love everyone should want. Yet it also made me think about how these three things must also be used towards ourselves. Through my reflection, I was able to discover that I don’t necessarily need someone to fill my void of happiness. My journey so far has led me to to understand that my own independence is important to allow me to grow into the person that I’ve always wanted to be. It all starts with learning to respect yourself.

Upon reading the first few pages I was in awe of Hoover’s writing that was able to capture my attention from the word go. I thought it was clever how Hoover chose to write from the point of views of Sydney and Ridge allowing us to see their different reactions towards the same situation in time. Very cleverly done.

The introduction to Ridge was beautifully described and easy to visualise. How Sydney took a step out onto her balcony and there he was, guitar in hand. One of the things I am passionate about is music and how it has the power to make us feel emotion no matter what genre we listen to. Reading a story that involved musical attributes may have also been the reason why this book captivated me so much. I love singing, songwriting and playing instruments such as the guitar and the ukulele which alluded me to particular scenes as I could imagine myself being in the shoes of Ridge who is focused on the music and the music alone. Only 25 pages in did I discover to my surprise that Ridge is actually deaf. I found that to be a great twist as it was unexpected yet allowed an interesting story to unfold as we begin to question their act of communication.

Another moment that truly expresses the power of music was revealed on page 89 when Ridge gives earplugs to Sydney, wraps his arms around her pulling his guitar in front of her chest. This exploration of curiosity and the unknown enabled Sydney to solely focus on the vibrations made by the guitar rather than hearing the notes for themselves. I thought it was captivating as it highlights how music has multiple components to it. We can choose to listen to so many different aspects of a song such as focusing on the instruments or the lyrics. It was beautifully described how Sydney was able to feel the vibration in her chest.

When this similar situation is then reversed onto Ridge trying to listen to the vibration of Sydney’s voice yet feeling the vibration in his cheeks was also wonderful. You can easily visualise their heightened emotions from where the vibrations hit them which is truly interesting. It was this part where I fangirled reading how Hoover wrote, “She feels the way I imagined a voice would feel during a song… I focus on how her voice blends with the vibration of the guitar, and I’m in complete awe.” There is so much cuteness yet the moment is incredibly intimate. You can’t blame Sydney for growing feelings for Ridge in this moment. Imagine how vulnerable you would feel having an attractive boy wrapped around you. My heart would break through my chest.

In contrast to this, I was quite annoyed the first time Ridge and Sydney kissed as he turned her into a Tori due to expressing feelings openly towards someone who has a girlfriend which in this case is, Maggie. Sydney knows how it feels to be on the end of that spectrum and the fact that she did the same thing was quite foolish although realistically I guess it would be difficult not to react in the way that they both did.

I completely agreed with what Sydney said on pages 173 to 174 explaining how “despite how hard [they] tried to fight it, all of those things happened between [them] because [their] feelings for each other are becoming stronger than [their] desire. Desire is easy to fight. Especially when the only weapon desire possesses is attraction. It’s not so easy when you’re trying to win a war against the heart.” This part really made me think about my own experiences with having feelings towards someone. How when you first start to fall for them it begins with desire. Instead of needing this particular person, you fall into the trap of wanting them which can confront and defeat you especially when in a situation where they don’t want you. If there is a mutual connection which grows then that is when the desire changes to a driving need and I think it is important to identify and understand the difference between the two which I guess I only have just realised this year.

To add to my anger towards Sydney turning into Tori, I was especially pissed at Ridge when we found out that Maggie has an illness. You’d think that Ridge would never cheat on her especially due to what she is going through. That made me lose a bit of respect for Ridge yet it was somewhat regained when Maggie opened up to him announcing that he was in the way of allowing her to dream and explore. Maybe he is meant to be with Sydney yet I thought it was shit how Ridge screwed with both Sydney’s and Maggie’s emotions. Although he is charming he is also kind of an ass in this retrospect.

Apart from that irritating me I still like Ridge very much as he grows and you eventually find out just how much of a good person he is as well as funny. There was a hilarious moment on page 182 where Ridge announced, “I can’t hear my own farts, so sometimes I’ll forget that other people can hear them.” I read this line on a train ride home and burst out laughing.  I also began to idolise him more when we found out the true meaning behind how his band name, Sounds of Cedar came to be. Unfortunately Ridge has been through a lot in the past basically looking after his brother, Brennan on his own and having awful parents. I thought it was beautiful how Hoover wrote how Ridge “learned how to differentiate chords and sounds through all the nights [his] body and [his] ears were pressed against the cedar floor.”

One of my favorite parts in this book was page 326 when Sydney listened to his heart and discovered how being around him affects him through observing the rhythm of his heart beat. It was such a beautiful moment the way Hoover described how the rhythm of Ridge’s heart beat is beautiful. How “the way it cares is beautiful.” How “the way it loves is beautiful.” I know that I also would of cried if this would of happened to me. Accompanied with this was the letter Ridge wrote to Sydney which expressed how he makes her feel by observing past memories they have shared together. This is where my respect for Ridge was regained.

Another part that I absolutely loved was the scene where Sydney was forced to listen to Sound of Cedar play live. It was hilarious as well as adorable how on page 347 Brennan announced directly to Sydney through the microphone, “He can’t hear what I’m saying right now, so I’ll take this opportunity to tell you Ridge is full of shit. He doesn’t want to wait anymore. He wants you to say the word more than he wants air. So please, for the sake of all that is holy, say the word tonight.” Followed with Sydney saying, “I feel like my maybe someday just became my right now” and then following with her signing the word “when?” to him! Oh my goodness. My heart was melting. When did she learn to sign? Eeeeeeeeeeee!!!

Maybe Someday was beyond beautiful and I absolutely loved the end when Ridge told Sydney to put in earplugs as they made love by only listening to the sounds of their hearts. It was incredibly beautiful especially how Hoover wrapped up the novel with the line, “For the first time in my life, I hear absolutely everything.” I was so happy for them and reading those last few pages enabled me to analyse just how much they care for each other which makes me jealous towards the love they share. So so incredibly beautiful.

I rate this book 4/5 stars as some moments were possibly a bit too cheesy for me and too predictable for example when Maggie found out what was going on between Sydney and Ridge through his messages. You would think that he would of deleted them. Yet despite those few things I absolutely loved this novel. It made me feel. It made me question. It made me reflect.

If you have not read this book yet I urge you to do so and if you have then please let me know what you thought of it.

For now, I hope you are enjoying your day and are indulging yourself in the addiction that is books. Devour. Devour. Devour.

Sidney xx

7 thoughts on “Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover (SPOILER REVIEW)

Leave a Reply

