#books

The Prophet by Kahlil Gibran (SPOILER FREE)


I have currently been reading Night Study by Maria V. Snyder yet today I decided to take a break from the high fantasy world. With its warmth, the sun beamed, shining through the glass windows of my home. I felt a desiring urge for something philosophical and therapeutic. Within seconds I began reading The Prophet. Guess who was immediately hooked from reading the first line? THIS GIRL!  I’m overjoyed that I chose to read this beautiful book on such a beautiful day. What a way to end the month spending two hours with a book that emits light!

The Prophet was exquisite and extremely memorable. I read it in one sitting yet found that long after I finished had I picked it up again to reread chapters and lines that spoke to me more then others.

Gibran takes us on a journey that allows us to understand in greater depth topics such as love, joy, sorrow and death to name a few. I caught myself reciting lines over again due to the high level of truth revealed as well as to hear the purity of his poetry on my own tongue. My personal favorite chapters were Self-knowledge, Friendship and Beauty. You should definitely check them out!

The amount of quotes discovered in this book never ends as there are so many good lines! I found myself highlighting the whole way through as Gibran perfectly captures life in its truest form with such great intricate detail allowing the mind to enter a place of light creating a sense of clarity to the eye that was once blinded by naivety.  As well as the quotes, Gibran also included images which tied together with his words of wisdom.

Some of my favorite quotes from this book were:

  • “Stand together yet not too near together: For the pillars of the temple stand apart, And the oak tree and the cypress grow not in each other’s shadow.” (pg 19)
  • “When you crush an apple with your teeth, say to it in your heart: “Your seeds shall live in my body, and the buds of your to-morrow shall blossom in my heart, and your fragrance shall be my breath, and together we shall rejoice through all the seasons.”” (pg 31)
  • “Forget not that the earth delights to feel your bare feet and the winds long to play with your hair.” (pg 43)
  • “You can muffle the drum, and you can loosen the strings of the lyre, but who shall command the skylark to sing?” (pg 55)
  • “Say not, “I have found the path of the soul.” Say rather, “I have met the soul walking upon my path.” For the soul walks not upon a line, neither does it grow like a reed. The soul unfolds itself, like a lotus of countless petals.” (pg 66)

I highly recommend that you read this little book of wonders if you have not yet already. I assure that you will be fulfilled and find numerous lines that will make you gasp in awe towards the lessons of life. Sending so much love and light your way, my happy little readers.

For now, I hope you are enjoying your day and are indulging yourself in the addiction that is books. Devour. Devour. Devour.

Sidney xx

Leave a Reply

